Gleanings

I want to introduce a new feature/series on this blog, something that I’m calling “Gleanings”.  My hope is to present (roughly) weekly reflections on a particular passage that I’ll be studying in my personal worship.  As I look forward to married life (and with it, the prospect of regular family worship again!) I’ve decided to restructure the way I do my devotions.  I want to focus my personal time in God’s Word to emphasize study and meditation and use the time in Scripture reading as a family to give me the “big picture” survey by reading multiple chapters at once.  We’ll see how the details work out, but at the moment I’m testing the approaching of spending one week with a particular chapter of the Bible.

I’ll try to read the same chapter every day for a week, pulling out verses to memorize and meditate upon, identifying key words and themes, outlining the passage, and summarizing the chapter in one key sentence.  This is not intended to be an in depth study with commentaries and exegetical studies, but rather I hope to present some of the simple gleanings that I’ve learned from my time with the passage.  It is an exercise in Christian meditation more than an example of detailed study.  I hope it will prove profitable for both writer and reader!

Leave a Reply

Gospel Reformation Network

Cultivating Healthy Reformed Churches in the PCA

primitivetechnology.wordpress.com/

Making stuff from scratch in the wild

The Garden Professors™

Advancing the science of gardening and other stuff since 2009

Rationality as Worship

The Testimony of Jesus is the Spirit of Prophecy

Read the Fathers

Join a world-wide community in reading the church fathers daily.

Christopher B. Nelson | SignPosts for Liberal Education Blog

Christopher B. Nelson, president of the Annapolis campus of St. John's College, shares his thoughts on the Liberal Arts and Liberal Education

Afterthoughts

... for the Classical, Charlotte Mason Mama

Inside Classical Education

News, Reviews and Interviews about Classical Education

Mere Orthodoxy | Christianity, Politics, and Culture

Culture, politics, and religion for those who love words.

Bible Design Blog

The physical form of the Good Book

West Port Experiment

On Reformed territorial missions & the cure of souls

www.theamericanconservative.com/dreher/

Just another WordPress.com site

Hough Family Blog

Just for the memories

